Embajada de la Federación de Rusia en los Estados Unidos Mexicanos
Tel.: +52 (55) 5516-0870
Tel.: +52 (55) 5273-1305
/Horario de atención: 8:30 – 13:30,15:15 – 19:00


According to preliminary estimates, the resident population of the Russian Federation in 2020 was 146.7 million people. Russia is a diverse and multi-ethnic society, home to 160 different ethnic groups and indigenous peoples.

Although the population of Russia is relatively large, its density is low due to the enormous size of the country. Density is highest in the European part of Russia, near the Ural Mountains and in southwestern Siberia.

73% of the population live in urban areas. According to the 2010 census, the two largest cities in Russia are Moscow (11.514 million inhabitants) and Saint Petersburg (4.848 million). Ten other cities have more than a million inhabitants: Novosibirsk, Yekaterinburg, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Omsk, Kazan, Chelyabinsk, Rostov-on-Don, Ufa and Volgograd.

Russia's 160 ethnic groups speak about 100 languages. According to the 2010 census, 137.5 million people speak Russian, followed by Tatar with 4.2 million and German with 2.06 million. Russian is the only official language at the state level, but the Constitution grants the republics of Russia the right to declare their native language as co-official alongside Russian.