Embajada de la Federación de Rusia en los Estados Unidos Mexicanos
Tel.: +52 (55) 5516-0870
Tel.: +52 (55) 5273-1305
/Horario de atención: 8:30 – 13:30,15:15 – 19:00

About Russia

The Russian Federation is the largest country in the world. It has an area of 17,075,400 square kilometers, more than a ninth of the planet's mainland, with a wide variety of natural environments and reliefs. Russia has the largest reserves of mineral and energy resources in the world still untapped, and is considered the largest energy superpower. It has the largest reserves of forest resources and a quarter of non-frozen fresh water in the world.

Russia has a population of 146 million people (2019).

Russia is, along with China, the country that borders with the most countries (14) and the one with the most extense borders. It borders the following countries: Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Belarus, Lithuania, Poland, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia and North Korea. It also shares maritime borders with Japan and Alaska, the territory of the United States of America. Its coasts are bathed by the Arctic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, and inland seas such as the Baltic Sea and the Black Sea. The length of its land borders is more than 20,000 km; the maritime, about 38,000 km. The capital of Russia is Moscow.